Iceland became the sixth country to commit to the World Trade Organization’s (WTO) Agreement on Fisheries Subsidies. Switzerland was the first to accept the agreement in January, followed by Singapore in February, the Seychelles in March, the U.S. in April, and Canada in May. The agreement prohibits WTO member governments from providing subsidies to fishing vessels or operators that engage in “illegal, unreported and unregulated” fishing practices and prohibits subsidies for any fishing of species that have been depleted by overfishing and for fishing on the “unregulated high seas.” After Iceland’s commitment, one hundred and three other member countries still must commit before the agreement to curtail overfishing of the world's oceans becomes operational.