Twenty-seven advocacy groups, including the Center for Biological Diversity and the Humane Society of the United States, petitioned the Department of the Interior and the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service to disqualify Montana and Idaho from receiving millions of dollars in federal conservation funds under the Pittman-Robertson Act (“the Act”) because of the anti-wolf legislation the states enacted in 2021. Pursuant to the terms of the Act, the Secretary of the Interior has the authority to decline distribution of funds to states that enact legislation contrary to the Act’s conservation goals.