Global Declaration for River Dolphins Gains Support from Nine Nations

The Colombian government, World Wildlife Fund, Omacha Foundation, World Bank, and specialists from the South American River Dolphin Initiative have secured commitments from nine countries for the Global Declaration for River Dolphins. The declaration commits fourteen countries within the animals' range to implement specific actions, fortify regional and national initiatives, and address the decline in river dolphin populations. Emphasizing protected habitats, research, community collaboration, and an end to unsustainable fishing practices, the signed countries include Bangladesh, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Colombia, Ecuador, India, Nepal, and Venezuela. While China, Indonesia, Myanmar, Pakistan and Peru are yet to sign, the initiative marks a significant step toward international cooperation for the conservation of river dolphins.