New York State Bans Sale of Cosmetics Tested on Animals

New York has become the tenth U.S. state to ban the sale of cosmetics that have been tested on animals. Known as the New York Cruelty-Free Cosmetics Act, the law prohibits the manufacturing and sale of cosmetics that have conducted animal testing. This legislation follows similar acts passed in Virginia, California, Louisiana, New Jersey, Maine, Hawaii, Nevada, Illinois, and Maryland, and comes as forty-two countries have implemented nationwide bans. New York’s law is slated to come into effect in 2023.